• About
  • Contact
  • Follow
  • Al Golden Scholarship

    The Al Golden Memorial Scholarship Fund, named after North Dakota oil pioneer and the first member of the NDPC’s Hall of Fame Al Golden, was established in 2008 to support students who are pursuing post-secondary education in geology, engineering, processing plant technology, science, technical skills or other careers related to the oil and gas industry. The scholarships are part of the oil and gas industry’s efforts to help solve growing workforce demands in North Dakota. The North Dakota Petroleum Council awards nine $2,000 scholarships in each school year.  Recipients  receive $1,000.00 for the fall semester and $1,000.00 for the spring semester.

    To be ELIGIBLE for the award, students must:

    Students must be a full-time student for the fall semester of 2019 and the spring semester of 2020 and must have completed ONE of the following:

    • Have at least six months work/internship experience in the oil and gas industry;
    • Have completed at least 12 hours in geology, earth science, geological/petroleum engineering, chemistry, math, or safety; or
    • Have at least a 3.0 GPA.


    Our 2018-2019 Al Golden Memorial Scholarship Award Winners




    Jesse Dalle

    Geology Student, Minot State University






    Grace DeVault

    Geology Student, University of North Dakota







    Alayna Rose Espeseth

    Geology Student, North Dakota State University





    Abraham Torres    

    Petroleum Production Technology Student, Williston State College





    Jack Nathe

    Business Management Student, University of North Dakota





    Kristopher Flagtwet

    Petroleum Engineering Student, University of North Dakota






    Nicholas Franz Knapp

    Petroleum Engineering Student, University of North Dakota