• About
  • Contact
  • Follow
  • Al Golden Scholarship

    The Al Golden Memorial Scholarship Fund, named after North Dakota oil pioneer and the first member of the NDPC’s Hall of Fame Al Golden, was established in 2008 to support students who are pursuing post-secondary education in geology, engineering, processing plant technology, science, technical skills or other careers related to the oil and gas industry. The scholarships are part of the oil and gas industry’s efforts to help solve growing workforce demands in North Dakota.

    The North Dakota Petroleum Council awarded nine $2,000 scholarships for the 2016-2017 school year.  Recipients will receive $1,000.00 for the fall semester and $1,000.00 for the spring semester.


    To be ELIGIBLE for the award, students must:

    1. be undergraduates majoring in geology, earth science, geological engineering, petroleum engineering, energy economics and finance, process plant technology, energy management, petroleum production, mechanical maintenance, water and wastewater, and instrumentation and control at a North Dakota college/university, or have work/internship experience in the oil and gas industry;
    2. have a GPA of 3.0 or higher; and
    3. have completed at least 12 hours in geology, earth science, geological/petroleum engineering, chemistry, math, or safety.
    4. remain a full-time student for the fall semester of 2016 and the spring semester of 2017.


    To apply for the scholarship, applicants must SUBMIT the following:

    1. the completed form (available here),
    2. college transcripts,
    3. a one-page essay on career plans in their chosen major,
    4. a letter of reference reflecting on the student’s general character, work ethic, etc. from a college professor, and
    5. full contact information (name, address, email, phone number)

    Send applications to: NDPC – Al Golden Scholarship Fund, PO Box 1395, Bismarck, ND 58502


    Please contact the North Dakota Petroleum Council with any questions at ndpc@ndoil.org or 701.223.6380. Applications for the 2017-2018 school year are due April 1, 2017.